CALL FROM UNKNOWN DEPTHS / Demo 4 tracks 1992

IMMORTAL HORDE / E.P. 3,  1993 released on Wounded Love Records

THE LADY RIDES A BLACK HORDE / LP 11 tracks, CD 1995, Tape 1996 on East Gothic Productions, reissue CD 2010 (with bonus tracks) on Totestrieb Records, LP 2017 (limited to 300 copies) on Rex Bagude Productions

REIGN OF OBSCENITY / LP 11 tracks, CD 1996, Tape 1997 on Osiris Productions

THE JACKAL PACT / LP 11 tracks, 1998 (with enhanced CD-Rom)

THE SPECTRAL VOICES / LP 11 tracks, 2000

AT THE MEMORY OF THE PAST / Compilation Tape, 2000 on Black and Dark Mansion.

SPLIT (avec OTAL) / CD 2011 co-released by D.U.K.E. / Dernier B. / Goeatia E.

EVOKING THE ANCIENT FORCES OF GORGON / Compilation CD, 2011 on Rex Bagude Productions

THE VEIL OF DARKNESS (2019) on Osmose ProductionsReviews

THE LADY RIDES A BLACK HORSE (reissue 2019 on CD, black LP, white LP & digital) on Osmose Productions

REIGN OF OBSCENITY (reissue 2019 on CD, black LP, red LP & digital) on Osmose Productions

CALL FROM UNKNOWN DEPTHS (reissue 2019 on CD & digital) on Osmose Productions


Formed in 1991 in the south of France by Chris (guitar/vocal), the band, with different line-ups, played 2 gigs in 1992 with the Italians bands O.I.D. and SADIST and released its unique and classic studio 4 track demo tape CALL FROM UNKNOWN DEPTHS. The audience was baptised with blood during the first show.

In 1993, the Italian label Wounded Love Records published their 3 songs E.P. IMMORTAL HORDE, the very first E.P. for a French black metal band. The band played gigs with EXULCERATION (Sui), NO RETURN (Fra), MERCYLESS (Fra), and SAMAËL (Sui). During GORGON’s show, the latter Swiss band notices their second guitarist at this period, who will join SAMAËL later under the pseudonym of Kaos.

In 1994 they played as headliner in Italy with OPERA IX (Ita) with a full line-up and recorded their first album THE LADY RIDES A BLACK HORSE which was released in CD format in 1995. The Malaysian label East Gothic Productions released a cassette version in 1997. Another re-issue in CD format was made in 2010 by the English label Todestrieb Records with bonus tracks and new artwork. Then, in 2017, Rex Bagude Productions from Mexico released a vinyl version.

One song from this album appeared on the triple CD compilation SOMETIMES… DEATH IS BETTER PART 2, 3, 4 from the Belgian label Shiver Records in 1995 and another one on the CD compilation STRANGER THAN PARADISE from the French label Dolphins Records in 1996.

In 1996, during an open air show (with their compatriots AGRESSOR and other bands), GORGON was stopped after 17 minutes of concert due to use of blood and the reaction of the audience. In the same year, REIGN OF OBSCENITY, the second studio album was released in CD format on Dungeon. In 1997, the Slovakian label Osiris productions published a tape version. One song also appeared during the same year on ENCYCLOPEDIA PESTILENCIA, a triple black metal CD compilation from the French label Velvet Music International.

THE JACKAL PACT (1998), the third album, contained an interactive cd-rom part (including clips, photos, translation of lyrics, bio and so on), a thing rather rare for a band at this time. One song is used on ACT, a CD compilation sold with the French mag “Mundzuk Association”.

The last album was released in 2000. Called THE SPECTRAL VOICES, with a front cover created by the drummer of ANOREXIA NERVOSA, it included bagpipes on two songs. The French label Black and Dark Mansion published at the same period AT THE MEMORY OF THE PAST, a compilation tape of the band.

The band appeared also in 2000 on EXTREME ACTION, a CDr compilation from Metal Action (Fra), and in 2001 on three CDr compilations from France: BLACK CIRCLE Volume 1NON SERVIAM Volume 1 and SKELETON OF SOCIETY Volume 1 from Apocalyptic Productions. The band appeared too on more than 30 international compilation tapes from underground labels or distributors since 1992 such as Nightfall Records (Pol), Morbid Metal Records (U.S.A.), Lapide Productions (Por), Impure Creations Records (Fra)…the list continues.

GORGON played its last live show on the 30th November 2001.

In 2011, after years of silence, out came a CD compilation, EVOKING THE ANCIENT FORCES OF GORGON, on the Mexican label Rex Bagude Productions, along with a split CD with O.T.A.L. released by three French labels. The GORGON section was composed of unreleased songs, alternative mixes and cover songs.

2018 is the year of GORGON’s triumphant and blackest return. A new album is scheduled on Osmose Productions with recording sessions happening during the summer months. Original member Chris will be the primary instrumentalist and also utilising a session drummer. A guest, well-known from French black metal audience, will also appear on it.

In addition, the French labels Triumph Ov Death and Analog Spleen Records has re-issued the 1992 demo on vinyl format limited to 300 copies in 2018.

GORGON photo


  1. Son Of Perdition 1 :06
  2. Still Six Six Six 3 :08
  3. This Is War 3 :03
  4. The Veil Of Darkness 4 :19
  5. Border Of The Forest 4 :18
  6. Path Of Doom 4 :13
  7. The Roots Of My Fantasies 4 :27
  8. Burned For Him 3 :56
  9. Depraved Conception 4 :40
  10. Posthumous Bewitchment 3 :35
  11. Our Crusade 6 :05




  1. Among Fogs Of Oblivion
  2. Tower Of Gargoyles
  3. The Lady Rides A Black Horse
  4. Call From Unknown Depths
  5. As A Stone
  6. The Union
  7. At The Memory Of The Past
  8. Elizabeth
  9. Swallowed Thoughts
  10. Immortal Horde
  11. The Day Required

REIGN OF OBSCENITY (reissue 2019)

1. Procession Of The Damned
2. Exhumed Under A Shooting Star
3. Spiritual Incest
4. The Negative Light
5. Revelation
6. In Another Sea
7. Epitaph
8. The Lady Still Rides
9. In A Grey Sky
10. Dance Of The Coffins
11. The Law (Of The Stolen Death)



1. Intro
2. Call From Unknown Depths
3. Servant Of The Lie
4. At The Memory Of The Past
5. The Twilight Of Forgotten Men
6. Outro